A password will be e-mailed to you.

The Episcopal Church

The Episcopal Church is the Province of the Anglican Communion in the United States — a province that also includes Honduras, Taiwan, Colombia, Ecuador, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Venezuela and the British Virgin Islands along with parts of Europe. As of 2008, it is a church of 2,057,292 baptized members making it the fifteenth largest Christian denomination in the United States.

In keeping with Anglican tradition and theology, the Episcopal Church considers itself both “protestant and catholic” and has a long history of both social action and liturgical tradition. Organized shortly after the American Revolution when it separated from the Church of England, the Episcopal Church was the first of what would become 37 autonomous national churches tracing their roots to the Church of England and bound together by “bonds of affection.”

Formed out the crucible of the American Revolution, the Episcopal Church is governed by a representative democratic process. Our bishops are elected by both clergy and laity – rather than being appointed – and decisions made for the whole church can only be made by our General Convention (which meets every three years) and includes laity, clergy and bishops

For decades All Saints Church has had a strong and influential voice at the national church level, and we continue to work with national church colleagues on a variety of issues of peace, justice and inclusion. For a look at some of that work and witness, watch this video report from General Convention 2015.

Other links of interest:

The Episcopal Church

A History of the Episcopal Church

A church glossary

Episcopal Public Policy Network (EPPN)